53rd Florida State Tournament Results

May 5, 2015 | Article

Dave Roberts, TD

This year the bowlers returned to Melbourne, FL to compete in the 53rd Florida State Championship tournament. Things got underway with 10 teams entered into the Ronnie Ritcherson Scratch Doubles which was contested on Friday with the title being won by Floridian bowlers Jim Coffey and John Bell (bowling his first event) to out duel John Budd (IN) and Kenneth Hill (IL).

Singles qualifying was held on Saturday and Sunday with roll offs in each division with the top five bowlers vying to win the title in Scratch, “A” & “B” divisional matches. Top qualifier, Andy Bernt (FL) proved to be too much for John Bell (FL) as he lost 247-202 in the final match as Andy won the “B” title.

Similar to the final in B, Paul Wolbert(FL) ran the table as High qualifier bettering Paul Cook(TX) 276-180, and High scratch qualifier, Dave Roberts(FL) fell to Terry Stewart(TX) 179-145 in scratch division championship match. Congratulations to all the 2015 champions.

Some Individual awards went to Andy Bernt HHS honors with 672 in “B” ; Ed Linde HHG 239, Chuck Karczewski HSS 413, and Millie Irizarry HSG 157.

In “A” the HHS went to Paul Wolbert for his 695; HHG to Rich Gabory 237; Wayne Webber HSS 512 and Larry Chauncey took HSG honors with 188.

Special thanks our sponsors, ABC Medical, FGCPVA, National PVA, FWBA, and Storm. Additionally we are most grateful for the scoring assistance provided by Mary Ann Templar and Nancy Roberts. Thanks as well to Millie Irizarry, Roger Templar, Kim Green, Darlene Chauncey, and Rob Templar for the support each provided in making this a successful event.

The tournament will move to Tampa area next year with Wayne Webber hosting. We hope to see you all there.