57th Florida State Championship Results
Home » Tournaments » Results » 57th Florida State Championship Results

Prior to bowling we had enrolled 22 bowlers for the tournament this year but we had several bowlers drop prior to the end of qualifying for various reasons. Still we had a good competitive event throughout the doubles and singles competitions.

Things started out on Friday morning with George Holscher (VA) and Dave McGinnes (FL) capturing the Doubles crown over Rich Gabory (FL) and Chuck Karczewski (FL) in the pins over average format.

There was not a scratch division this year as the bowlers were split into an A and B division. There was an extra added challenge in the roll offs as the bowling center had committed to another party for extreme bowling, where they turn the house lights of and use loud music and strobe lighting. The participants chose to go directly into the roll off rather than wait till the party was over.

The A division pitted Rick Mahaney (LA) against Phillip Daniel (TX) with Mahaney advancing (204-172). Tournament director Wayne Webber successfully dispatched Mahaney (208-168) before losing to Brooks Martin (WV) 241-196. Brooks took on High qualifier George Holscher to capture the A champion (204-176). Congratulations Brooks. George had averaged 200.3 throughout singles.

In the B roll off Chuck Karczewski lost to his doubles partner, Rich Gabory (214-195). Gabory edged out Jim May (VA) by one pin, 219-218 advancing to face Deb Moulies (FL) who eliminated Rich (192-169). She also dispatched High qualifier Dave McGinnes in a very close match (221-219) to win her second consecutive B title.

Handicap honors went to George Holscher 755 HHS and Brooks Martin 289 HHG in A, Dave McGinnes 756 HHS and Rich Gabory 269 HHG in B. Brooks also took home most improved with +375 pins improved Congratulations to all the bowlers who won prizes this year.

My thanks to all the individuals who helped this year, our sponsors, Maryann, Kim, Sue & Nancy for 50/50, Belinda Formento for all her efforts and many others whose contributions helped in so many ways. I am grateful to Nancy and Dave for the scoring assistance as our official scorers. Lastly thanks to the bowlers who were able to participate this year.

Until next time,

Wayne Webber, TD
Member of AWBA Hall of Fame


Tournament Results

A Division

PosEntHcpNameScratchHandicap$$$End Avg
115945Brooks Martin21322672800177
218126George Holscher24042716400200
316144Wayne Webber18372545300153
415054Rick Mahaney14642328200122
514756Phillip Daniel16742346100139
615846Kenneth Hill1741229350145
719513Roger Templar17442260 145
814756Dave Roberts17442224 145
917131Ron Johnson6801232dnf 
1015549Gary Ryan  withdrew 

B Division

PosEntHcpNameScratchHandicap$$$End Avg
188108Deb Moulies12862582800107
210990David McGinnes Jr.16282708400135
312477Rich Gabory16272551300135
49999Jim May13922580200116
510297Chuck Karczewski13782542100114
610495Ed Linde1346248650112
782115Dan Formento10652445 88
810495Keith Green12852425 107
910693Larry Chrislip11872303 98
1012180Tom Maciosek9071867dnf 
1189108John Bell4441740dnf 
George Holscher – 677, 612
Brooks Martin – 616
George Holscher – 585, 564, 530
Brooks Martin 543
Dave Roberts – 568
Wayne Webber – 520
George Holscher – 243, 238, 235, 214, 202, 201
Brooks Martin – 244, 206
Dave Roberts – 219
Wayne Webber – 202

AWBA Past Events

May 3, 2024 - May 5, 2024
Bowlero | Romeoville, IL
Tournament Deadline

62nd Annual AWBA/USA Up/Down Event and Fundraiser

Oct 27, 2023 - Oct 27, 2023
City View Lanes | Fort Worth, TX
Tournament Deadline
Oct 24, 2023 - Oct 28, 2023
City View Lanes | Fort Worth, TX
Tournament Deadline