Texas Shootout Results
Home » Tournaments » Results » Texas Shootout Results


Shawn Bean/Gary Ryan, Tournament Directors

Well, the 1st Annual Texas Shootout is in the books!!!!!  What a great turnout we had with over 31 bowlers coming from all over the country to participate in 3 days of fun loving enjoyment with some great bowling.  City View Lanes in Ft. Worth was a wonderful facility to host such an event and their staff was most accommodating in providing us with great lanes, great food, and some warm Texas hospitality.  And the weather was typical March in Texas with wild flowers in full bloom, crystal clear blue skies and no humidity!!!!!  The Up and Down was a huge success with over 27 teams filling the center.  We were honor to have 6 USBC notables join us for the event which our bowlers along with the general public  witnessed the way we should all bowl.  The end results were extremely close with only 7 pins separating first to third place.  Everyone had a wonderful time.  Doubles competition began on Friday morning with 15 teams entered into the event.  Don Porpora and Paul Cook took the Doubles honor defeating Kavin Monroe and David Nelson.  Mark Shepard and Peter Arbollo came in third.  Singles competition was, as usual, very competitive in all Division.  In the “B” Division, we had a first time winner and brand new member from Florida, Millie Irizarry, take the honors.  She fought through the tears in accepting the trophy.  She is going to be a wonderful addition to the AWBA.  You will enjoy every minute you spend with her.  In “A” Division, Wayne Webber outlasted Paul Cook to take the crown back to Florida.  And in the Scratch Division, Eddy Hutchens defeated the Birthday Boy, Roger Templar, to take the honors to Colorado.

Shawn and I would like to extend our thanks to those members that made donations to the 1st Texas Shootout.  Each of you know who you are but without those donations, this event would have never happened.  We would also like to thank Nancy Roberts and Mary Ann Templar for their assistance.  We would like to thank the sponsors that were so gracious to support this event and the AWBA.  Finally we would like to express our sincere thanks to Onie Ryan and Mae and David Zaunbrecher for scoring an event for the first time along with Candice, Shawn Beam’s Mom.  We really don’t know how we could have pulled this off without their dedication to the AWBA.  Thank you so very much.

We hope you enjoyed all the activities as much as we enjoyed hosting this event.  We are in hopes that this will be the first of many minus the scoring glitch.  Thanks to each of you for your attendance and your friendship.  It is truly treasured.



Place“A” Division“B” DivisionScratch Division
1Wayne WebberMillie IrizarryEddy Hutchens
2Paul CookSmiley WallaceRoger Templar
3Don PorporaStephen SmithMark Shephard
4JK JohnstonKevin SchaeferMike DeLoach
5Gabe DeLeonGil HerreraShawn Beam



Paul Cook/Don Porpora

Kevin Monroe/Dave Nelson

Peter Arbollo/Mark Shephard

AWBA Past Events

2023 Mid America Chapter PVA/AWBA Invitational Bowling Tournament

Mar 31, 2023 - Apr 1, 2023
Firelake Bowling Center | Oklahoma City, OK
Tournament Deadline
May 5, 2023 - May 7, 2023
Tournament Deadline
Dec 1, 2022 - Dec 4, 2022
Sunset Station | Henderson, Nevada
Tournament Deadline
Nov 21, 2022